Operations_Strategy_Head

operations_strategy

 

Zitate_E_Soerensen_2

In order to achieve our vision of becoming the fastest sports brand in the world, 2015 saw continued investments into better and faster collections, into our brand, our organization, our distribution and our IT infrastructure.

PUMA’s Global Operations department under the leadership of Chief Operating Officer Lars Sørensen comprises our product development, sourcing, trading and logistics activities as well as the group’s IT and Business Solutions functions. The joint ambition of all of these functions is to provide commercial products at the best price and quality and at the right time to our customers.

Faster lead times, cost 
management and better
product availability

In 2015, we continued to reduce our standard production lead-times across all of our product divisions and implemented fast-track capabilities. This will enable us to react faster to trends and customer needs. Furthermore, we implemented dedicated footwear supply chains to gain specialization benefits across PUMA’s product categories, separating our Performance from Sportstyle and commodity products. This led to efficiency benefits in product creation and helped us to mitigate negative impacts from increasing labor cost. Our PUMA International Trading (PIT) organization, which serves as a global trading hub between our third-party suppliers and the sales subsidiaries of the PUMA Group, significantly improved the transparency and control over all of our transactions, resulting in a better on-time delivery performance.

Faster Business Solutions for
Faster Business Processes

In order to implement fast business processes and IT systems, PUMA’s Business Solutions team focused on three main areas in 2015: further implementing PUMA’s end-toend trading setup, continuing to build capabilities and processes to improve our design, development and planning processes, and optimizing the IT infrastructure.

PUMA International Trading (PIT): 
2015 saw the global rollout of our trading platform PUMA International Trading (PIT) across all of PUMA’s sales subsidiaries and third party suppliers to centrally manage all global order and invoice flows. One of the prerequisites was the implementation of an improved ERP-system supporting these standardized processes with our sourcing partners.

Design, Development and Planning:
To increase our efficiency in the product creation process, we built what we call “toolboxes”: Toolbox capabilities drive transparency, efficiency and speed in managing our main product components such as materials and graphics. These and other, more basic capabilities, are key for the implementation of advanced product management tools in 2016.

IT Foundation: 
In 2015, we upgraded our IT landscape to lay the foundation for further global standardization and enhancements in the coming years. One of the most visible impacts in 2015 was the global implementation of Microsoft Outlook and complementary communication and collaboration capabilities.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-03 um 14.56.30

Looking Ahead…
The year 2016 is highlighted by major sport events and a pipeline full of new, commercial PUMA products. We will further capitalize on the structural improvements, which lay the foundation for a lean and efficient company in the future. Looking ahead, both expanding the scope of our International Trading Organization and building enhanced capabilities and tools across product development, planning and reporting are the main priorities – in line with our overall strategy of being “Forever Faster”.

Operations_Strategy_Head

OperationsStrategy

 

Zitate_D_Soerensen_2

 

Der Verantwortungsbereich Global Operations unter der Leitung von Chief Operating Officer Lars Sørensen umfasst die Funktionen Produktentwicklung, Einkauf, Handels- und Logistikaktivitäten sowie IT und Business Solutions. Ziel ist es, im Zusammenspiel all dieser Funktionen zu gewährleisten, dass unseren Kunden kommerzielle Produkte in bester Qualität zum besten Preis und zur richtigen Zeit angeboten werden.

Kürzere Lieferzeiten, 
Kostenmanagement und 
bessere Produktverfügbarkeit

2015 haben wir unsere Produktionszeiten über alle Produktsegmente hinweg weiter reduziert und schlankere Prozesse eingeführt, um noch schneller auf Trends und Kundenbedürfnisse reagieren zu können. Zudem haben wir im Bereich Schuhe spezialisierte Beschaffungsmodelle für die Bereiche Performance-, Sportstyle sowie andere Produktgruppen implementiert. Hierdurch wurden die Effizienz in der Produktion gesteigert und die Auswirkungen steigender Lohnkosten verringert. Mit unserer PUMA International Trading-Organisation (PIT), der globalen Schnittstelle zwischen unseren externen Zulieferern und PUMAs Tochtergesellschaften, konnten wir die Transparenz und Steuerung unseres weltweiten Bestell- und Rechnungsverkehrs erheblich verbessern und unsere Lieferpünktlichkeit steigern.

Schnellere Business Solutions für 
schnellere Geschäftsprozesse

Um schlankere Geschäftsprozesse und IT-Systeme zu implementieren, standen für das Business-Solutions-Team 2015 im Wesentlichen drei Kernbereiche im Fokus: die Beschleunigung von PUMAs globalen Bestell- und Rechnungsströmen, die Verbesserung unserer Design-, Entwicklungs- und Planungsabläufe und die Optimierung unserer IT-Infrastruktur.

PUMA International Trading (PIT):
Zur Steuerung unserer globalen Bestell- und Rechnungsströme haben wir 2015 alle PUMA-Tochtergesellschaften und alle unsere externen Zulieferer an unsere Handelsorganisation PIT angeschlossen. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür war die Einführung eines verbesserten ERPSystems zur Unterstützung dieser Prozesse mit unseren Zulieferern.

Design, Entwicklung und Planung:
Für eine noch effizientere Produktgestaltung haben wir die Handhabung von Materialien, Grafiken und anderen wichtigen Produktkomponenten vereinheitlicht und dadurch transparenter, effektiver und schneller gemacht. Diese und andere grundlegende Neuerungen sind die Voraussetzung für die Einführung moderner Produktmanagement- Systeme im Jahr 2016.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-04-29 um 11.49.24

IT-Infrastruktur:
2015 haben wir unsere IT-Landschaft ausgebaut und damit den Grundstein für eine globale Standardisierung und Optimierung gelegt. Am deutlichsten zeigte sich diese Neuerungen 2015 in der weltweiten Einführung von Microsoft Outlook und neuer Anwendungen zur verbesserten Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit.

Und so geht es weiter…

In einem Jahr, das durch große Sportereignisse und viele neue Produkteinführungen von PUMA gekennzeichnet ist, werden wir auf den Verbesserungen aufbauen, mit denen wir das Fundament für ein schlankes und effizientes Unternehmen gelegt haben. Unser Fokus liegt dabei insbesondere auf dem Ausbau und der Stärkung unserer PIT-Organisation sowie auf der Stärkung unserer Kapazitäten in den Bereichen Produktentwicklung, Planung und Berichtswesen, um unserem Leitbild „Forever Faster“ Stück für Stück näher zu kommen.